Due to the third wave of COVID-19, the government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has announced ten districts where educational institutions will stay closed until April 11th. Shahram Khan Tarakai, the provincial Minister of Education, revealed the districts in a tweet: 

“Due to an increase in coronavirus cases, ten KP districts, including Peshawar, Mardan, Charsadda, Swabi, Kohat, Malakand, Swat, Lower Dir, Nowshera, and Buner, will remain closed until April 11, 2021.” 

The decision has been taken in the context of an agreement reached at an inter-provincial meeting of education ministers to close schools and colleges in areas where COVID-19 severity is high. At a press conference on Wednesday, Federal Minister of Education Shafqat Mahmood declared the agreement and explained the status of the Matriculation and Intermediate exams. 
“In terms of matric and intermediate exams, it has been agreed that board examinations for Classes 7th, 8th, 9th & 10th will be conducted according to the schedule declared by the provincial governments and boards earlier.” 

Murad Raas, Punjab’s Minister of Education, declared the districts where schools would remain closed until April 11th as a result of the decision. All educational institutions in Lahore, Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Gujrat, Multan, Faisalabad, Sialkot, Sargodha, and Sheikhupura will be closed until April 11th, according to his tweet. 

By Sumbul Jawad

I’m a Ph.D. scholar and a writing enthusiast. I have a keen interest in exploring new ideas and digging facts. I am well-versed in doing research and creating original content. I focus on current affairs, international affairs, and technology-based subjects. You may reach me at [email protected] for any query.